Your Browser has JavaScript turned off.
You will experience a more enjoyable time at this website if you turn JavaScript on.

Garden City Wings Ice Hockey Club


Directory
2014-15 Middle School Team
2013-14 Varsity Team

Freshman/MS Archives
Varsity Archives

Rink Directions
Wings Mailing List
Contact Information

Other Hockey Sites


1973-74 Wings

Upcoming Dates:
Sunday 1/3/16 at 5:00pm at Iceworks MS (Away) game vs. Locust Valley
Sunday 1/3/16 7:30pm at Oyster Bay Varsity (Away) game vs. Levittown
Monday 1/4/16 8:45pm at Eisenhower Varsity (Home) game vs. RVC
Sunday 1/10/16 7:45pm at Port Washington MS Practice
Sunday 1/10/16 8:40pm at Long Beach Varsity(Away) game vs. Oceanside
Monday 1/11/16 7:30pm at Port Washington Varsity Practice
Wednesday 1/13/16 8:00pm at Oyster Bay Varsity (Home) game vs. Locust Valley
Sunday 1/17/16 7:45pm at Port Washington MS Practice
Monday 1/18/16 9:00pm at Port Washington Varsity Practice
Monday 1/25/16 7:30pm at Port Washington Varsity Practice
Tuesday 1/26/16 7:50pm at Newbridge MS (Home) game vs. Wantagh/Seaford
Tuesday 1/26/16 8:30pm at Oyster Bay Varsity (Home) game vs. Plainedge
Wednesday 1/27/16 at 6:15pm at Oyster Bay MS (Away) game vs. Port Washington
Sunday 1/31/16 7:10pm at Long Beach Varsity (Away) game vs. Locust Valley
Sunday 1/31/16 7:45pm at Port Washington MS Practice
Saturday 2/6/16 10:30am at TWIN RINKS MS game vs. Oceanside
Monday 2/8/16 7:30pm at Port Washington MS Practice
Wednesday 2/10/16 8:00pm at Oyster Bay Varsity (Home) game vs. Oceanside
Friday 2/12/16 6:45pm at Newbridge MS (Away) game vs. Wantagh/Seaford
Monday 2/15/16 7:30pm at Port Washington MS Practice
Sunday 2/21/16 7:45pm at Port Washington MS Practice
Sunday 2/28/16 5:40pm at Long Beach MS (Home) game vs. Sewanhaka
Monday 2/29/16 7:30pm at Port Washington MS Practice
Tuesday 3/1/16 8:30pm at Oyster Bay MS (Home) game vs. Locust Valley
Saturday 3/5/16 2:30pm at Iceworks MS (Away) game vs. Syosset
Sunday 3/6/16 7:45pm at Port Washington MS Practice
Saturday 3/12/16 12:45pm at Iceworks MS (Home) game vs. RVC
Saturday 3/19/16 12:45pm at Iceworks MS (Away) game vs. RVS
Tuesday 3/22/16 6:45pm at Oyster Bay MS (Home) game vs. Syosset
Wednesday 3/23/16 6:15pm at Oyster Bay MS (Home) game vs. RVC
Saturday 3/26/16 12:45pm at Iceworks MS (Away) game vs. Oceanside


For more information and to register for the upcoming seasons please click on the appropriate program:
   Middle School
   Varsity
Please make sure to include in the email the name of the interested player, parent names, address, phone numbers, email address and current grade level.


Please direct all other general inquiries regarding the Wings program via email: Wings Info Mailbox.

This past fall the Wings participated in their 41st season in the Nassau County High School Hockey League. The organization plays in both the Middle School (6th-8th grades) and Varsity (9th-12th grades) divisions. See archives for more details.




Wings History...
     The Wings Hockey Club was founded in 1973.  It began through the efforts and dedication of Bill Newlin-Wagner who, with the assistance of Ward Doerschuck and Peter Gall, fielded a team in the Nassau H.S. Hockey league during the 1973-74 season.

     In the Certificate of Incorporation, the purpose for the formation of the team was "to teach and develop skills in the sport of ice hockey among the youth of Garden City High School and generally encourage amateur hockey in the community."  Over the years the team has more than lived up to these goals, having competed very successfully in the league.  More importantly it has developed the spirit of teamwork and success in many of the players that have passed through the program.  Bill Newlin-Wagner put it best in addressing the team in its early history.  He said "the essence of teamwork is character, friendship, unselfishness, excellence in skating, stick handling, and tactics. My modest attempts at teaching you were, and always will be, not only how to win but also how to bear it when you lose."

     Over the years the organization has been funded primarily from the parents of the players.  In addition, we had enjoyed the generosity of The Men's Association of the Garden City High School.  Without their encouragement and support we would have great difficulty in running our program and we thank them for all their help.

     The club currently participates in both the Middle School and Varsity divisions of the High School Hockey League of Nassau County, Inc.   The league comprises club and fully sanctioned school teaMS .  Games are played at ice rinks located in Nassau County.   The program is open to all players in the 6th through 12th grades who live in the Garden City school district.


Click on the links on the left for more information on our program.

We welcome any questions, comments or suggestions about our program or this web site.