Your Browser has JavaScript turned off.
You will experience a more enjoyable time at this website if you turn JavaScript on.

Garden City Wings Ice Hockey Club


Directory
Middle School Team
Varsity Team

Freshman/MS Archives
Varsity Archives

Rink Directions
Wings Mailing List
Contact Information

Other Hockey Sites


1973-74 Wings





Upcoming Dates:
All practices are held at Port Washington from 7:00 - 8:15pm

Monday 11/5/18 Varsity Practice
Tue 11/6/18 Away Game 8:15pm vs. Plainview at Town of Oyster Bay
Sun 11/11/18 Home Game7:20pm vs. Rockville Centre/Malverne at Long Beach
Monday 11/12/18 Varsity Practice
Tue 11/13/18 Away Game 8:15pm vs. Syosset at Town of Oyster Bay
Monday 11/19/18 Varsity Practice
Tue 11/20/18 Home Game 6:45pm vs. Bethpage at Town of Oyster Bay
Wed 11/21/18 Away Game 6:15pm vs. Farmingdale at Town of Oyster Bay
Monday 11/26/18 Away Game 8:25pm vs. Bellmore/Merrick at Newbridge
Wed 11/28/18 Home Game 6:15pm vs. Massapequa at Town of Oyster Bay
Fri 11/30/18 Away Game 6:45pm vs. Manhasset at Newbridge
Sun 12/2/18 Away Game 8:05pm vs. Port Wash/GN/Herricks at Iceworks
Monday 12/3/18 Varsity Practice
Wed 12/5/18 Home Game 7:45pm vs. Loc Val/NS/Oyster Bay at Town of Oyster Bay
Fri 12/7/18 Away Game 8:00pm vs. Friends Academy at Eisenhower
Monday 12/10/18 Varsity Practice
Fri 12/14/18 Away Game 8:00pm vs. Long Beach at Long Beach
Monday 12/17/18 Varsity Practice
Sun 12/23/18 Home Game 8:05pm vs. Oceanside at Iceworks
Monday 1/7/19 Varsity Practice
Sun 1/13/19 Home Game 8:05 vs. Sewanhaka/VS at Iceworks
Monday 1/14/19 Varsity Practice
Monday 1/21/19 Varsity Practice
Sun 1/27/19 Home Game 8:05pm vs. CSH at Iceworks
Monday 1/28/19 Varsity Practice
Fri 2/1/19 Home Game 6:45pm vs. Wantagh/Seaford/Plainedge at Newbridge
Mon 2/4/19 Away Game 9:00pm vs. Levittown/Hicksville at Cantiague
Monday 2/11/19 Varsity Practice
Monday 2/25/19 Varsity Practice
Monday 3/4/19 Varsity Practice


For more information and to register for the upcoming seasons please click on the appropriate program:
   Middle School
   Varsity
Please make sure to include in the email the name of the interested player, parent names, address, phone numbers, email address and current grade level.


Please direct all other general inquiries regarding the Wings program via email: Wings Info Mailbox.

This past fall the Wings participated in their 41st season in the Nassau County High School Hockey League. The organization plays in both the Middle School (6th-8th grades) and Varsity (9th-12th grades) divisions. See archives for more details.




Wings History...
     The Wings Hockey Club was founded in 1973.  It began through the efforts and dedication of Bill Newlin-Wagner who, with the assistance of Ward Doerschuck and Peter Gall, fielded a team in the Nassau H.S. Hockey league during the 1973-74 season.

     In the Certificate of Incorporation, the purpose for the formation of the team was "to teach and develop skills in the sport of ice hockey among the youth of Garden City High School and generally encourage amateur hockey in the community."  Over the years the team has more than lived up to these goals, having competed very successfully in the league.  More importantly it has developed the spirit of teamwork and success in many of the players that have passed through the program.  Bill Newlin-Wagner put it best in addressing the team in its early history.  He said "the essence of teamwork is character, friendship, unselfishness, excellence in skating, stick handling, and tactics. My modest attempts at teaching you were, and always will be, not only how to win but also how to bear it when you lose."

     Over the years the organization has been funded primarily from the parents of the players.  In addition, we had enjoyed the generosity of The Men's Association of the Garden City High School.  Without their encouragement and support we would have great difficulty in running our program and we thank them for all their help.

     The club currently participates in both the Middle School and Varsity divisions of the High School Hockey League of Nassau County, Inc.   The league comprises club and fully sanctioned school teaMS .  Games are played at ice rinks located in Nassau County.   The program is open to all players in the 6th through 12th grades who live in the Garden City school district.


Click on the links on the left for more information on our program.

We welcome any questions, comments or suggestions about our program or this web site.